You are here


The fifth edition of the South African Hip Hop Awards are coming up next month, the 14th of December, at the Lyric Theatre in Johannesburg

Hosted by comedian Nina Hastie and actor and MC Batsile Ramasodi, this year’s show is themed “Who Wants to be a Billionaire?” According to a press release, it’s “inspired by the role big money is starting to play within the culture.”

Public voting is open for the following six categories: Best Collaboration, Best Female, Best Male, Best Hip Hop Radio Show, Best Video, Song of the Year.

In the top five categories, voting is based on the judges’ scores and public votes (60% judges and 40% public).

The 2016 SA Hip Hop Awards will premiere on MTV Base (DSTV Channel 322) Monday, 26 December.

Check the full list of nominees here:

Song of the Year

‘Gwan’ – Maraza
‘Ameni’ – Miss Pru
‘Pearl Thusi’ – Emtee
‘Sidlukotini’ – Riky Rick
‘One Time’ – AKA
‘Ngud’ – Kwesta ft. Cassper Nyovest
‘Hell Naw’ Nasty C
‘Now Or Never’ – DJ Switch
‘Washa’ – DJ CitiLyts ft. Ambitious Artists
‘Walking & Dabbing’ – Aewon Wolf ft. Gemini Major & Khuli Chana

Best Album

20FIFI – Fifi Cooper
Avery – Emtee
DAKAR II – Kwesta
Refiloe – Cassper Nyovest
We Need a Title – BETR Gang

Honorary Award


Mixtape of the Year

AM-EP – Maraza
You Don’t Know Me Yet – Priddy Ugly
Ground Zero – Gigi LaMayne
3/4 Pace – Kid X
Cameron Diaz – Stilo Magolide

Best Male

Avery – Emtee
DAKAR II – Kwesta
Refiloe – Cassper Nyovest

Best Female

20FIFI – Fifi Cooper
Bragga – Nadia Nakai
Ground Zero – Gigi LaMayne
Storiez 2 Tell – Megmafia

DJ of the Year

DJ Switch
Major League DJz
DJ Dimplez
DJ Speedsta
Ms. Cosmo

Producer of the Year

Ganja Beats
Lunatik Beats
Gemini Major

Best Collabo

‘Ameni’ – Miss Pru ft. Fifi Cooper, Emtee, B3nchmarq, A-Reece, Saudi & Sjava
‘Kuze Kuse’ – Fifi Cooper ft. Emtee
‘Washa’ – DJ CitiLyts ft. Fifi Cooper, Emtee & B3nnchmarq
‘Dreamwork’ – AKA ft. Yanga
‘Ngud’ – Kwesta ft. Cassper Nyovest
‘Ragga Ragga’ – Gemini Major ft. Family Tree
‘Now Or Never’ – DJ Switch ft. Shane Eagle, Proverb, Reason & Kwesta
‘Way It Go’ – DJ Switch ft. Tumi, Nasty C and Youngsta
‘Jump’ – Anatii ft. Cassper Nyovest and Nasty C
‘Walking & Dabbing’ – Aewon Wolf ft. Gemini Major and Khuli Chana

Lyricist the Year

Nasty C
Kid Tini
Kid X

Best Freshman/Newcomer

Coming Of Age – Kid Tini
20FIFI – Fifi Cooper
Cameron Diaz – Stilo Magolide
¾ Pace – Kid X
Book Of Chad – Chad Da Don

Hustler of The Year

Cassper Nyovest
Khuli Chana
Gigi LaMayne

Best Dance Crew

Creed Crew
Supreme I Crew
2Legitt Crew
Vintage Crew

Best Video

‘Couldn’t’ – A-Reece ft. Emtee
‘Le Mpitse’ – Cassper Nyovest ft. Riky Rick
‘Sidlukotini’ – Riky Rick
‘Ameni’ – Miss Pru
‘War Ready’ – Cassper Nyovest
‘Yippikayay’ – Reason ft. AKA and Khuli Chana
‘More’ – Stilo Magolide
‘Mr. Madumane’ – Cassper Nyovest
‘Jump’ – Anatii ft. Cassper Nyovest and Nasty C
‘Fuseg’ – Riky Rick ft. Cassper Nyovest and Anatii

Promoter of the Year

Pop Bottles
Major League Gardens
Authentic Sunday
Sneaker Exchange
Maftown Heights


Fill Up The Dome – Cassper Nyovest

Best Digital Sales

Kwesta – Gold Album + Gold Single
Cassper Nyovest – Double Platinum Album
Emtee – Platinum Album

Best Remix

‘Ambitions (Remix)’ – Tweezy ft. Khuli Chana & Ice Prince
‘Roll Up (Re-Up)’ – Emtee ft. AKA and Wizkid
‘Baddest (Remix)’ – AKA ft. Fifi Cooper, Rouge, Moozlie & Gigi LaMayne
‘Now Or Never (Remix)’ – DJ Switch ft. Various Artists
‘Juice Back (Remix)’ – Nasty C ft. Davido & Cassper Nyovest

Most Valuable

Cassper Nyovest
Riky Rick
Khuli Chana

Best Hip-Hop Radio Show

The Hip Hop Floor – YFM
The Stir Up – 5FM
Namba Namba – Ukhozi FM
The Ready D Show – Good Hope FM
Headwarmaz – Bush Radio
The Mixtape – Alex FM
Hip Hop Corner – NW FM
Hip Hop Culture – Ligwalagwala FM
The Fresh Cut – Gagasi FM
The Capital Rap Up – Cliff Central

King of Mpumalanga Province

Thabs Tha Acid
Fortune Ntekati
Marvin Straight

King of Western Cape

Lolli Dekeni
Zanzolo Uzwi Kantu
Emile Y?X

King of Limpopo

Hip Hop Live SA
Nema Wama Hunguni
DJ Chocos

King of Eastern Cape

Yahkeem Ben Israel
Snesh Nota

King of North West

Amos Ofentse Tapile
DJ Lemonka
Thabiso “Lunchboy”Tshabalala

King of Free State

Thabo Tsasane

King of Northern Cape

DJ Speedy V
Snowy Maine
King Kyla

King Of KwaZulu Natal

DJ Feel
Junior De Rocka
Lindo Prowjekt Thwala

King of Gauteng Province

Spoken Priestess
Major League DJz

Facebook Comments
Kevin Alemba
Music lover and writer. Twitter: @alembah

Leave a Reply